Day 2: The Lunch Box

Weekly Writing Challenge: Day Two

20140122_143634

Lunch – at long last!

I find a spare bench – its my usual spot

Not too far, yet out of view from the shop

My lunch box comes out,

and soon my sandwich is done

As I dispose of remains the cleaning lady stops

Emptying the bin she spies my lunch box

looking my way she flashes a grin

“Quiet today” she nods in relief,

“much better that way.”

“That’s Tuesdays tho’ ain’t it?” I smile in reply

“A bit of calm, very nice”

“See you later!” She leaves, trolley in tow

Unnoticed, it seems, by anyone else

It is funny, I think, as I sit here alone

How invisible we are

once Meadowhall opens its doors

Ah well.

Times up for now – my box goes away

That’s that then, back to the shop for today!

8 responses to “Day 2: The Lunch Box

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Lunch Posts | To Breathe is to Write·

  2. Pingback: DP Weekly challenge – Lunch post – A bit of mayo please. | Its all about a bit of this and that......·

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Lunch post Day 3 | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)·

  4. Pingback: Lunch at the Ranch – Running To and Fro | Running Brook Reflections·

  5. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Lunch Posts | Joe's Musings·

  6. Pingback: How Seed Catalog Orders are Born | mariestephensgardening·

Leave a Reply

