This Is Africa

Taken by me; 2011

Taken by me; 2011

This is Africa

A Continent with endless wonder

And timeless grace

 

It has beauty

Oh awesome, and splendid beauty

Magnificence in spades

 

I love Africa

It never ceases to amaze

Excite, inspire me

 

I am breathless

When I kneel before you

Face to face

 

I see much;

Rhino, Zebra, Buffalo and Lion

Even Hippo wade

 

But I worry

Does our presence spoil you?

My heart aches.

 

With our cameras

We take your life blood

Steal your splendour

 

This is Africa

Crowded, poor; Westerners hover gawking

Capturing your shame.

 

Do we pleasure?

Find glee seeing you suffer?

Your beauty drained?

 

I wish not

But I fear it so

My hopeless Africa

 

My love will

Forever remain, our hearts entwined

I won’t capitulate

Leave a Reply

