Rape is not about Racism: It’s about Misogyny.

This week the people of Rotherham were left reeling with disbelief when it was discovered that over 1400 children, from one small town, have been abused and exploited over the last 16 years by gangs of Asian men, of mainly Pakistani decent.

The teenage girls, who were reportedly of a white majority (but not exclusively), were left to fend for themselves when the police systematically refused to take accusations seriously; instead implying that the girls were asking for it, and should clean themselves up in order to prevent such abuse. To prevent getting themselves raped; groomed; beaten; trafficked around the country; pimped out to god-knows-who only god-knows-where.

These young girls should have been listened to. Supported. Believed.

Instead they were treated with contempt. They were laughed at. Flung aside like criminals by those whose job was to protect.

Hardly any of the girls who were brave enough to report the crimes committed against them were believed. Hardly any of the men who committed the crimes were arrested. One was even invited to the ante-natal classes of the young girl he had raped, by her social worker, as if it was normal to rape a young teenage girl whilst your pregnant wife waited at home .

Although, in fairness it would not be right to cast negative light on the social workers; it was apparently only they that paid the girls cries any credence. They listened. They wrote down their observations. They took their reports to the appropriate places. The reports added up, and added up, and added up.

Yet no one listened.

Eventually, in 2001, a Home Office researcher, who was undertaking a project on child exploitation, wrote a letter to the then chief constable of the South Yorkshire police; this letter expressed concern regarding the lack of protection for children at risk in that area.

Still, the police did nothing.

The council did nothing.

For 16 long years nobody did anything.

Only this week has a report finally been released that outlines the damning extent of the abuse, and shows the absolute failure to confront it by those in power. The report further shows that the men and women of Rotherham council showed extreme tolerance for the vile criminals who perpetrated these crimes. In other words their abject avoidance of this issue was due to the fact that the criminals in question were Asian.

The council did nothing because the men were Asian.

This in itself is so obviously racist that it makes me want to cry in frustration at their ignorance. Evidently all Asians from a Pakistani decent want to rape young white girls. Hence, we can’t just arrest one or two gangs; that would be deemed racist.

Give me strength!

What’s more, the ensueing outcry by the media is dominated by those who devote their reporting to discussions of whether this is evidence of reverse racism. That is all they discuss.

For instance. Look at this extract from the Daily Express today:

photo

Nicking ethnic perverts…

Christ on a bike! How can they get away with this sort of language? What really bugs me is that not once did he, in this whole article, mention the simple fact that it was a massive cover-up of men taking advantage of vulnerable young females. As if race was the only issue at point in this situation.

Like with Jimmy Saville, Rolf Harris, and all the other politicians and celebrities revealed to be serial sexual offenders this last year; the members of these gangs are men who have taken of advantage of women or girls becuase they think that it is perfectly fine to do so.

That sex is theirs to take because they are of the superior gender.

I hate being this blatatently feminist but isn’t that what rape is, in essense? A man stealing what he thinks is his to take? Yes women are capable of sexually abusing men. However, at risk of generalisation, lets face it; most rape is, for obvious phallic reasons, conducted by men.

The men in question, who happened to be Asian, did what they did because they had no regard or respect for the young girls they preyed upon.

The issue of race is entirely secondary.

We should definitely be in uproar about the events in Rotherham this week – but not because of the fact that the perpetrators were Asian. Because, yet again, it shows that we in Britain uphold a habit of disbelief regarding rape; the burden is perpetually on the victim to prove that she is thus, rather than on the defendant to prove he is innocent.

This has to change.

KsjmfZTJOqWfzAS-556x313-noPad

Although the posters were part of a “Know Your Limits” drinking campaign which ran between 2005 and 2007, some surgeries and clinics are still displaying the offensive message.

This poster is evidence of a society that will always look to the woman to lay blame. The fact ever remains that if the woman says no, or is unable to say yes, it is rape. If it is rape it is the mans fault.

Getting this message across absolutely has to be the main lesson that we learn from this incident.

Not a message of hatred towards ethnic minorities.

It does not matter that this was racism. Or reverse racism. Or apologetic racism.

What does matter is that this was, plainly and simply, Misogyny.

And it has to stop.

Articles regarding this case:
http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/news/uk/article4191553.ece

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/comment/rotherham-child-abuse-scandal-apologists-misogyny-and-double-standards-9692497.html

17 responses to “Rape is not about Racism: It’s about Misogyny.

    • I was actually reading it already before you commented!

      It is a very good post, I like that you didn’t even really mention that the guys were mostly Asian. It didn’t seem to occur you, like it wasn’t important to you whilst writing it. To me that is exactly how discussions on this subject should be conducted; it engages people with the real point of the issue, which clearly isn’t race.

      Thank you also!

      • How weird that we cross posted lol… It’s immaterial what the skin colour/ethnicity/religion of these abusers other than the fear of being labeled racist preventing people reporting. It’s about culture and establishment in my opinion. Culture and establishment but mainly children.

      • Yes. Your post was much more thorough than mine regarding how we can tackle the problem, and help children in such situations.

        I mainly digressed towards rape – but I am just really passionate about the matter. Especially attitudes towards rape. I probably could have gone on and on!

  1. Sorry if I didn’t answer to the other comment of yours, but I was captured by this post. My comment will be wide-ranging and confused. I ask pardon for that.

    Well said and sadly true. This story is terrible. We have a lot of terrible stories in Mediterranean countries too. Misogyny is the FIRST and most important cause, here and everywhere, I agree with you. This being said aloud misogyny is stronger in cultures like India, Pakistan or Egypt etc. because patriarchy – where a man is considered superior to a woman (in the family, in laws etc.) – is more alive out there and is very similar to ancient Greeks’, for example, or Republican Rome’s, patriarchy.

    Rome was though different from Greece, which influenced Western customs, I guess. It was different because of the Etruscans, according to most scholars. Etruscan women were oriental, and very free. So became Roman women of the late Republican period and of the Empire.

    What I mean is that the article is not totally wrong.

    [ I don’t know if that newspaper is right-wing or left-wing. I’ve always been a leftist in any case. Now I though tend to judge political acts as good or wrong as far as they favour society as a whole, and especially the weak.]

    Egypt being so ancient, it is central for many countries in the world, and I guess for us too (I know you have travelled quite a lot).

    The Cairo trilogy by Naguib Mahfouz is a splendid literary work, “dominated by the robust personality of Ahmed Abd el-Gawwad, wealthy merchant, almighty husband and father, pious, stern and inflexible with his family by day, sensual and witty with his male friends and Cairo’s ladies of pleasure by night” (Nicole Chardaire).

    He is the Egyptian patriarch par excellence whom β€œboth men and women throughout the Arab world view … with melancholic nostalgia and admiration” (Sabry Hafez).”
    Among other characters are his wife Amina, submitted to her husband (in ways unthinkable here in the West) though strong and the real emotional centre of the family, and the young son Kamal, who is all absorbed in his ideals of poetry and wisdom.

    This example doesn’t mean I like patriarchy, quite the contrary. It is to show that some folks in the world have different customs, if it is true that men and women throughout the Arab world view this Patriarch with nostalgia. It also means though that the situation in many Arab countries has evolved.

    Pakistani men, hard to say. I had many pakistani students, among the rest, since I was teaching IT at a UN logistic base for many years.

    Regards

    Giovanni

    • I wasn’t really, well it wasn’t what I intended in any case. I meant that I didn’t want to be called a feminist. It’s not a bad thing but I just don’t like labels and I don’t really want to have that, or any other label, around my neck. I feel strongly about many feminist issues and equal rights but that doesn’t mean I want to be called a feminist. Labels come with connotations. Not that there is anything wrong with that; it depends on your personal view regarding these connotations. I wrote another post about why I don’t like labels, which may explain what I am referring to slightly better.

      • Maybe you are talking about stereotypes. The backlash against feminism has made women afraid to call themselves feminists. It is like a few years ago hear is the US liberals were afraid to call themselves liberals like it was a dirty word. I think the enemies of liberalism and feminism have been very effective in their attacks.

      • I know what a stereotype is; as I said regarding connotations. I do explain my view regarding this thoroughly in this post:
        https://abstractionsoflife.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/my-confession-i-hate-labels/

        I think you misunderstand me – I am not embarrassed by the term. I am not afraid of my opinions. I simply hate being constrained by labels, let alone the stereotypes that come with them. I like my opinions to be free and unfettered by such terms, which can restrain you. I don’t see the need to be called something in particular to express such opinions. If that makes sense!

      • I would say about myself is I do not like being stereotyped when someone has a negative connotation about a certain label. But I can not worry about what others chose to label me I guess because they probably will whether I like it or not and I can not control it.

  2. I didn’t think I’d say it, but I’m impressed by your piece. What disturbs me most though is, while the events in Rotherham are shameful and abhorrent, this is likely the tip of the iceberg. I understand that, around the country, similar stories are cropping up, such as Operation Daybreak in Nottingham, for example.

    I assess a lot of people who have been subject to sexual violence and abuse in my job, and the most common phrase I have heard is “maybe I brought it on myself”, either in the way they were dressed, the way they spoke or the way they acted immediately prior to the assault. You are quite right to state that rape is the fault of the rapist, the abuser is to blame for abuse.

    I remain horrified that people are being taught to avoid being spiked, for example, but children, and adults, are not being taught that you don’t engage in sexual activity with an unwilling or, for whatever reason, incapacitated person.

    Keep going with your posts – one of the few blogs actually worth reading.

    • Thank you Matt (I’m not offended at all that you were slightly surprised, just so know…) It is horrible how the victim blames themselves; and are encouraged to do so, quite often. Other women can oft be more disbelieving of abuse or rape than men, which really makes me sad.

      Yes. It is one of those ‘unspoken’ rules of society/law that actually does require speaking of, rather than avoiding broaching the subject whatsoever, as we seem to do; until something such as this happens.

      Thank you very much anyway!

Leave a Reply

